KYEMSC Advisory Committee

The EMSC Advisory Committee meets on a regular basis to advise the EMSC Project Director and the Kentucky Board of EMS on issues related to pediatric emergency care. These members are your representatives! If you have issues regarding the care of pediatric patients across the commonwealth, feel free to contact one of the advisory committee members. You are always welcome to contact the EMSC Project Director, Morgan Scaggs, at 859-256-3583.

Scroll down the page for additional information about upcoming meetings and minutes from previous meetings.

Committee Members

Mary Fallat, M.D. EMSC Committee Chair, EMSC Principal Investigator Kirikati S. Nagaraj Professor Division Director, Pediatric Surgery Surgeon-in-Chief, Kosair Children s Hospital

Morgan Scaggs, BHS, NRP EMSC Committee Vice-Chair, State Agency Representative, KYEMSC Project Director, KBEMS
Carol Wright, R.N. Nurse with Emergency Pediatric Experience Pediatric Trauma Nurse Coordinator Trauma Services, UK Healthcare

Susan Pollack, M.D. Physician with Pediatric Training, Coordinator Kentucky State Safe Kids Coalition PI, Injury Free Coalition for Kids of Lexington at KCH Pediatrician, Medical Home for Coordinated Pediatrics Assistant Professor, University of Kentucky, Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine Department of Preventive Medicine, College of Public Health and KY Injury Prevention and Research Center

Mark McDonald, M.D., FAAP Physician with Pediatric Training, Medical Director, Norton Children's Hospital 

Margaret Denise Gupton, BS, AA, EMT-P Emergency Medical Technician/Paramedic Campbellsville-Taylor County EMS

Landon Jones, M.D. Emergency Medicine Physician, Pediatric ED Medical Director, Kentucky Choldren's Hospital, UK Healthcare  

Melanie Tyner-Wilson Family Representative Early Childhood and Special Needs Outreach KY Injury Prevention and Research Center/Pediatric Adolescent Injury Prevention Program/University of Kentucky

Erika Janes, R.N. Child Advocacy and Injury Prevention Coordinator, Safe Kids Louisville & Jefferson County Office of Child Advocacy, Kosair Children s Hospital


Ex-Officio Members

Bari Lee Mattingly, R.N., UK Healthcare


Sandra Herr, M.D. Associate Professor of Pediatrics, University of Louisville ED Medical Director, Kosair Children's Hospital

Scottie Day, M.D. Physician with Pediatric Training Assistant Professor, Pediatric Critical Care Director, Pediatric Transport and Outreach Kentucky Children s Hospital/UK Healthcare

David Foley, M.D. Director of Trauma and Burns, Kosair Children s Hospital


The KYEMSC Advisory Committee schedule their meetings approximately one year in advance, typically on the second Wednesday of even months. There is a chance that some of those meetings may be changed, cancelled, or that there will not be a quorum in attendance. All are welcome to attend.

Most meetings are held at the KBEMS office located at the address below. The room assignments will be listed on the events page of the website. They will also be posted in the Lobby of the address below on the day of the meeting. Unless otherwise noted, meetings begin at 2pm.

118 James Court, Suite 50
Lexington, Kentucky 40505



December 13 

October 11 Meeting Cancelled

August 30 Agenda 

June 14 Agenda Minutes

April 12 Agenda Minutes

January 18 (KPECC Conference) Agenda Minutes


December 14 Agenda Notes (no quorum)

October 12 Agenda Minutes

August 10 Agenda Minutes

June 8 Agenda  Notes (no quorum)

April 13 Agenda Minutes

February 10 Agenda Notes (no quorum)

January 13-14 (KPECC Conference) Agenda


December 3 Agenda Minutes

October 1 Meeting Cancelled

August 6 Agenda Minutes

June 4 Agenda Minutes

February 5 Agenda Minutes


December 4 Meeting Cancelled

October 21 Agenda Minutes

August 7 Agenda Notes

June 5 Meeting Cancelled

April 3 Agenda Minutes

February 6 Meeting Cancelled


December 5 Agenda Minutes

October 3 Agenda Minutes

August 1 Agenda Minutes

June 6 Agenda Minutes

April 4 Meeting Cancelled

February 5 Agenda Minutes


December 6 Agenda Minutes

October 24 Agenda Minutes

August 8 Agenda Minutes

June 6 Agenda Minutes

March 28 Agenda Minutes

February 2 Agenda Minutes


November 3 Agenda Minutes

August 25 Agenda Minutes

May 9 Minutes

February 2 Conference Notes


December Minutes